summer reading

2019 Summer Reading Recommendations

person-2468249_1920.jpg

Summer is here! What are you reading? If you’re still looking for the perfect books, Connections has got you covered!

Upper Elementary & Middle School

The Wild Robot: This books deserves its spot on the bestseller list! When Roz, a discarded robot, finds himself shipwrecked on a remote island, he learns from the unwelcoming animals in order to survive. This book is the perfect combination of robots and wilderness. It is heartwarming and heartbreaking, and as soon as you finish, you’ll run to the library to check out the next book, The Wild Robot Escapes.

Lumberjanes Vol. 1: Beware the Kitten Holy: This graphic novel mixes summer adventure, mystery, and friendship into a great story! Follow five best friends as they spend the summer at Lumberjane Scout Camp. Some creepy things are happening at camp, and these quirky, fun girls are ready to band together! And good news- there are over 60 books in this series! Your summer reading list is set!

The Last Kids on Earth Series: This New York Times Bestselling series is another binge worthy read for the summer! Hang out with Jack Sullivan and his friends as they navigate life after the Monster Apocalypse. They are living in a tricked-out tree house, avoiding zombies, battling evil world-destroying monsters, and generally treating life like it's the best video game ever!


High School

Two Can Keep a Secret: Love a good thriller? Look no further! Author, Karen M. McManus, is quickly becoming the queen of young adult suspense. Her breakout novel, One of Us Is Lying was a New York Times Bestseller, and her new book, Two Can Keep A Secret is another must read. Echo Ridge is a picture-perfect ,small town, but Ellery is soon immersed in its hidden secrets when she moves there to live with a grandmother she barely knows. Ellery will soon learn that secrets are safest when kept to yourself.      

Nyxia Uprising: This highly anticipated final book of the Nyxia Tirad just came out in April. Summer is the perfect time to binge a good series, and this fast-paced, deep space adventure will hook sci-fi lovers of all ages! Fans of Hunger Games and Maze Runner have just found their next read.

Night Music: This book is the ultimate summer romance, ready to keep you entertained at the pool! Set in a New York City summer, Ruby and Oscar are both sorting out big questions like purpose and identity as they struggle to find themselves as musicians.


And check out last summer’s recommendations, too!

To Reward or Not To Reward – That is the Question

To Reward or Not To Reward – That is the Question

Parents often fear bribing their children to do things and ending up with a child who expects to be paid every time they are told to clean up their bedroom or do their homework. Should parents reward their child for things that are somewhat aversive or punish them for not doing those things?  It may be helpful to first ask, "Is there a difference between rewards and punishments?"  The long answer is yes, but the more practical answer is not really.